Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bladen County Girls Championship: Elizabethtown 48, Bladenboro 26

BLADENBORO – Laila Smith fired in 30 points Thursday to lead Elizabethtown to a 48-26 victory over Bladenboro in the championship game of the Bladen County Girls Basketball Tournament.

Laila Smith tossed in 3 baskets and 2 free throws as the Lady Cougars grabbed an early 8-2 lead. Mallory Bryan answered with 2 free throws for Bladenboro.

Zoe Smith buried a 3-point shot and added 2 more baskets in the second quarter for Elizabethtown. Laila Smith popped in 2 more baskets, and Iveonna Ward netted a basket to keep the Lady Cougars up 21-15 at halftime.

Photos by Kenneth Armstrong
Holland Davis drained a 3-point shot and 3 more baskets to keep the Lady Bulldogs close. Bryan threw in a basket and 2 free throws.

Laila Smith sank 8 of 10 foul shots in the third quarter and flipped in a basket. Shabrea Geathers and Ariel Cromartie pumped in baskets as the Lady Cougar lead grew to 35-24 at the third quarter break.

Bryan dropped in 2 baskets and 2 free throws for Bladenboro in the period, and Davis cashed in 3 free throws.

Laila Smith keyed a 13-2 closing run for Elizabethtown with 4 baskets. Zoe Smith delivered a trio of free throws, and Cromartie contributed a basket.

Bryan scored a fourth quarter basket and led the Bladenboro scoring with 14 points. Davis finished with 12 points. Zoe Smith followed Laila Smith on the Lady Cougar scoring list with 10 points.

Coach Cedric Owens’ Lady Cougars, now 3-0, will be right back at Bladenboro Tuesday for a Waccamaw Conference game. The Lady Bulldogs are now 3-2.

Elizabethtown  8  13  14  13 – 48
Bladenboro      2  13    9    2 – 26

ELIZABETHTOWN (48) – Laila Smith 30, Iveonna Ward 2, Zoe Smith 10, Ariel Cromartie 4, Shabrea Geathers 2, Nia McKoy, Aniyah Thompson, Arelia Lewis, Hailey Bennett, Takyla Cowan, Emma Weddington, Niyah Wooten, Mary Sutton.

BLADENBORO (26) – Omara McDonald, Natalie Sykes, Kali Allen, Mallory Bryan 14, Megan Pait, Marlie Walters, Holland Davis 12, Marly Crabtree, Noria Singletary, Trinity Meares, Brooke Singletary, Kallie Bass, Montserrat Castro.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.