Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bladenboro Rotary Club Celebrates 54 Years of Service with Scholarships and Awards

Spread the love

The Bladenboro Rotary Club leads by example with the motto Service Above Self. For 54 years, the local civic group has awarded members for service and supported deserving Bladen County students with scholarships.

On Monday, July 26, at 6:30 p.m., the club celebrated its 54th Annual Awards and Recognition Banquet at the Bladenboro Community Building. Club President Jeff Smith welcomed those in attendance. Rotarians Livingston Lewis led the Pledge of Allegiance, and Shirley Bridger gave the invocation.

President Smith presented the Honorary Rotarian award to Rotarian Wilma White. Rotarian Charles Bridger gave the recognition of Honored Club Patrons. The patrons honored were Peggy Allen, Margie Bridger, Mickey Davis, Hester Bowen, Virginia Howell, Wilma White, Micha Hester, and Louise Butler.

The 2020-2021 Gillam Walters Perfect Attendance Recipients were Livingston Lewis, Eddie Walters, Charles Bridger, Kent Packer, Tim Benton, Pam Benton, Shirley Bridger, Christy Hales, Elizabeth Packer, Jeff Smith, and Linda Smith.

Three Rotarians were awarded the Bladenboro Rotary Club Longevity Award for having 20 plus years as a member of the local club. The award winners were Charles Bridger for his 53 years in the club, Livingston Lewis for his 27 years as a member, and Eddie Walters for being a member for 25 years.

Rotarian Joey Todd handed out the scholarships to the recipients present. The awards were $1,000 per student.

Amelia Brisson and Cara Beth Lewis received the Commander Frank Elkins Memorial Scholarship Awards. Dylan Dove and Meron Warrick received the Martha and J.W. Black Scholarship Awards. Warrick could not attend the banquet, but Brisson, Lewis, and Dove, poised with smiles, stood in front of the Rotary Four-Way Test Banner with their checks in hand.

The Bladenboro Rotary club not only awards scholarships annually, but they donate dictionaries each year to local students, and they organize and promote other worthy campaigns “to encourage and foster the ideal of service as a basis of worthy enterprise.”

For the 2020-2021 year, the Club officers are President Jeff Smith, Secretary Pam Benton, Treasurer Eddie Walters, and Sergeant-at-Arms Lane Walters.”

Before the members adjourned the annual celebration, they recited The Four-Way Test.

The Four-Way Test is a nonpartisan and nonsectarian ethical guide for Rotarians to use for their personal and professional relationships. The test has been translated into more than 100 languages, and Rotarians recite it at club meetings:

Of the things we think, say or do

Is it the TRUTH?

Is it FAIR to all concerned?


Will it be BENEFICIAL to all concerned?

Related article:

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.