Spread the love

Lumber River Council of Governments Present Regional Awards On December 13, 2018, the Lumber River Council of Governments (LRCOG) celebrated 46 years of excellence and recognized individuals who have generously given their time and energy towards the work of the LRCOG. LRCOG Board of Directors Chairman, Mary Jo Adams, presided over the event.

Jean Lloyd, of Council, was named as the Regional Aging Advisory Council Member of the Year. Lloyd has served with the Council since 2016. During the seventy-fifth session of the North Carolina Senior Tar Heel Legislature held on October 2nd in Chapel Hill, Ms. Lloyd was recognized for her 15 years of service advocating for older adults within our great state.

Lloyd’s award was presented by Perry Blanks, Mayor of East Arcadia.

Former City Councilman Leon Maynor, of the City of Lumberton, was the recipient of the Calvin Haggins Award for Outstanding LRCOG Board Member of the Year. Jacqueline (Jackie) Johnson, Clerk for the Town of Maxton, received the Annie Kohnen Award for the Regional Clerk of the Year. Ricky Harris, Robeson County Manager, received the John K. McNeill, Jr. Region N Manager of the Year Award. Lee Berry, Mayor of Ellerbe, was the recipient of the first Leon Maynor Local Leadership Award. J.D. Willis, of Laurinburg, was the recipient of the L.E. McLaughlin, Jr. and Bob Gentry Regional Leadership Award.

Additionally, each board and advisory council serving the LRCOG presented an award to their outstanding members. Those honored were James (Guy) R. McCook, Jr., of Scotland County, as the Rural Planning Organization Transportation Advisory Committee Member of the Year; Jean Lloyd, of Bladen County, as the Aging Advisory Council Member of the Year; and Dr. Dale McInnis, of Richmond County, as the Dr. Stanley Richardson Award for Workforce Development Board Member of the Year.

The LRCOG provides an array of programs and services to the member governments located within its region: Bladen, Hoke, Richmond, Robeson and Scotland Counties. It serves as an administrative and service delivery arm for federal, state, regional and local programs of its member governments.

About Author