Spread the love

[slideshow_deploy id=’119251′]

Photos by Kenneth Armstrong

TAR HEEL – An 18-5 third quarter surge propelled Elizabethtown to a 46-37 boys basketball victory over Tar Heel Thursday night in Bladen Five Middle School Conference action.

Malcolm Bolden and Raymond Autry tossed in two baskets each in the first period for the Cougars. Teammate Jacob Nixon drilled in a 3-point shot, and Timothy McLean dropped in a basket as the Cougars built a 13-9 lead.

Center Lancine Soumanoro powered through the paint for four baskets and a free throw to account for the first nine Panther points.

Soumanoro dropped in three more baskets in the second period, and teammate Larry Council fired in a 3-point shot. Antonio Candelaria made two foul shots, and KeShawn Ballard hit a free throw as the Panthers trimmed the Cougar lead to 23-21.

Bolden pumped in three baskets, and teammate Ty Mathis muscled in two baskets to keep Elizabethtown on top at halftime.

Nixon drained a 3-point shot and another basket to lead the Cougar spurt in the third period. Autry battled inside for two baskets, and McLean netted a basket and a free throw. Bolden and Ahmad Powell connected for a basket each, and Chase Starkloff canned two free throws as the lead grew to 41-26.

Council buried a 3-point shot, and Soumanoro flipped in a basket for the Panthers in the quarter.

Candelaria threw in a basket and two free throws in the final period for Tar Heel. Teammate Saquan Lewis bombed in a 3-point shot, and Soumanoro and Serinni Washington made two free throws each.

Bolden and Autry delivered fourth quarter baskets for Elizabethtown, and Kory Smith hit a free throw.

Bolden topped the Cougar scoring with 14 points, and Autry followed with 10 points. Nixon finished with 8 points, and McLean scored 5 points.

Soumanoro led all scorers with 19 points for Tar Heel. Candelaria and Council finished with 6 points each.

Coach Larry Williams’ Cougars completed the regular season with a perfect 8-0 record.

ELIZABETHTOWN (46) – Chase Starkloff 2, Malcolm Bolden 14, Ahmad Powell 2, Timothy McLean 5, Ty Mathis 4, Raymond Autry 10, Jacob Nixon 8, Marvin McKiver, Layne Ross, Phillip McKiver, Cameron White, Ryan Yandle, Kory Smith 1, Tyveon Graham, Jackson Wright.

TAR HEEL (37) – Lancine Soumanoro 19, Antonio Candelaria 6, Ke Shawn Ballard 1, Larry Council 6, Gustavo Bravo, Gabriel Lara, Todd Richardson, Alex Garza, Deyon McDonald, Serinni Washington 2, Tucker Carroll, Saquan Lewis 3, Corey Clanton.