Press "Enter" to skip to content

53 teams participate in Bladen We Care Byron Gooden Golf Tournament

Spread the love

Fifty-three teams comprised of 212 players participated in the 30th Annual Bladen We Care Byron Gooden Golf Tournament held Thursday at Vineyard Golf at White Lake.

The event, which had morning and afternoon tournaments, raises funds to support needy healthcare situations in Bladen County. In 30 years, more than $2 million has been raised. There were 122 sponsors and numerous volunteers that working on another successful tournament.

The winning teams were:

A.M. Tournament

First Flight
First Place, Brave’s Club of UNCP/Star Telephone: (Lester Locklear, Jordan Sampson, Dickie Walters, Robbie Owen) 58
Second Place, Pepsi Bottling Ventures: (Brett Winborn, Tom Lee, Chris Newman, Ryan Bass) 59
Third Place, Coach’s #2: (Billy Augustine, Jason Bethune, Kent Fisher, Eric Fisher) 59

Second Flight
First Place, Reladyne: (Richard Burke, Meghan Head, Conner Bullard, David King) 66
Second Place, S & D Coffee: (Chris Algeo, Alan Hilton, J: eremy Taylor, Larry Caldwell) 66
Third Place, Marathon Petroleum: (Jennie Harris, Adam Lauth, Marc Reeves, Bill Parker) 66

Third Flight
First Place, Core Mark: (Mike Davenport, Gordon Phillips, Mike James, Ken Jordan) 69
Second Place, Cape Fear Vineyard: (Alex Munroe, Joey Schulz, Paul Boswell, Gil Granda) 69
Third Place, First Citizens/Geological Resources: (Keith Alsup, Jim Steed, Terry Kennedy, Nicky Long) 69

All ties were determined by a score card playoff.

Closest to the pin: Dickie Walters, Ronald Gooden, Jimmy Davis, Billy Shaffer.

Woman’s Long Drive: Pam Davis Taylor. Men’s Long Drive: Mark Mendell.

P.M. Tournament

First Flight
First Place, Melvin’s Hamburgers,LLC: (Luke Gooden, Jake Womble, Carlton Floyd, Blake Baysden) 55
Second Place, Houston’s Peanuts: (Nile Brisson, Jeff Brisson, Brian Tart, Lin Melvin) 56
Third Place, Giorgio’s: 56

Second Flight
First Place, DeVane Builders: (Charles DeVane, David Cross, Stacy Owen, Norgie
Hester) 62
Second Place, Campbell Oil Wholesalers : (Joe Jurczak, Zac Campbell, Jessica
Daughtery, Starslie Roberts) 63
Third Place, Coca Cola #1 (Marty Postell, Shawn Hinson, Wesley Campbell, Jennifer Eaton) 64.

Third Flight
First Place, Coca Cola #2 (Travis Gavel, Jeff Smith, Josh Mabe, Richard Stafford) 65
Second Place, Bladen OffRoad/Bladen Express Lube (Scott Gordon, Ricky Williams, Roger Davis, Darrell Davis) 66
Third Place, Shell Lubricants (Phillip Davidson, Chris Campbell, Stephen Stack) 67

All ties were determined by a score card playoff.

Closest To The Pin: Joe Bain, Mark Mendell, Shawn Hinson, Zac Campbell.

Women’s Long Drive: Ann Hancock. Men’s Long Drive: Nile Brisson.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.