• 5:13 am DYB District 2 AAA (Minors) Supplemental Tournament: Whiteville 4, Elizabethtown 0
  • 5:09 am DYB District 9 AAA (Minors) Tournament: Elizabethtown 26, Fairmont 6
  • 5:04 am DYB District 9 Majors Tournament: Elizabethtown 8, West Robeson National 3
  • 4:48 am This Day in History for June 24
  • 8:48 am Summer Camp for Bladen County children
Dixie Youth Baseball

BLADENBORO – Mariah “Chick” Smith pitched a complete-game Tuesday night as Clarkton won the Bladen County Dixie Youth Baseball Major League Championship with a 7-4 victory over the Bladenboro Giants.

Nazire Smith and Davion Graham drew walks to start the Clarkton first inning, and Marlan Davis drove in Nazire Smith with a single for a 1-0 lead.

Javius Brooks was hit by a pitch and scored on Nazire Smith’s fielder’s choice in the Clarkton second inning.

In the Clarkton third, Davis walked, but was forced at second by Mariah Smith. Nyquan Richardson walked, and Anthony McGill’s fielder’s choice plated Mariah Smith. Sherman Monroe knocked in Richardson with a single that stretched the Clarkton lead to 4-0.

Andre Moore beat out a bunt single in the Giant half of the third and scooted home when Alex Strange belted a single to trim the margin to 4-1.

Clarkton padded the lead to 6-1 in the top of the fifth. Graham hammered a double to left field, and Davis blasted a triple to knock in Graham then scored on an overthrow.

Steven Matheson walloped a double in the Giant fifth and scored on an infield out to whittle the lead to 6-2.

Clarkton tacked on a run in the sixth as Brooks cracked a single, moved up on a pair of wild pitches then scored on Nyirah Smith’s fielder’s choice for a 7-2 lead.

The Giants rallied in the home sixth. Alex Strange swatted a single and dashed home when Michael Young pounded a double to right-centerfield. Young scored on Kaiden Stanley’s fielder’s choice, but “Chick” Smith scooped up a grounder to her right side and outran the batter to first base to end the game.

Davis batted a perfect 2-2 with a triple, 2 runs batted in and a run scored to lead the Clarkton hitters. Graham finished 2-3 at the plate with a double and 2 runs scored.

Monroe singled in a run, and Brooks singled and scored a run. Nyirah Smith, Nazire Smith and McGill drove in one run each. Nazire Smith, “Chick” Smith and Richardson scored one run each.

Devon Strange batted 2-3 with a run scored to lead the Giant hitters. Matheson doubled and scored a run. Young doubled in a run and scored a run. Moore, Alex Strange, Stanley and James Edwards connected for one hit each. Stanley, Alex Strange and Cory drove in runs, and Moore scored a run.

Young started on the mound for the Giants and was relieved by Stanley.

Members of the Clarkton Major League Champions are: Nazire Smith, Davion Graham, Marlan Davis, Mariah “Chick” Smith, Nyquan Richardson, Anthony McGill, Sherman Monroe, Javius Brooks, Nyirah Smith and Zechariah Jones. Coaches are Graham Burney, Xavier McKoy and Charles Monroe.